Thursday, April 25, 2013

SMU honors the 2013 outstanding seniors

By Regina Barbosa
News Editor

Peter Borash and Connie Budin received the Outstanding Male and Female Senior Awards at the Founder’s Day Convocation on Tuesday, April 9, for their demonstration of scholarship, character, leadership, service and genuine concern for meeting the needs of others at Saint Mary’s University.

“It is a huge honor to be nominated as an outstanding senior and represent this university,” said Budin, a public relations major with both an art and business minor and an active student on campus.

According to Coordinator for the Mass Communication Program Dean Beckman, Budin “has embedded herself in our university.”  Budin has held positions of leadership for the admissions office, future alumni committee, student activities committee, student senate, the Taylor Richmond benefit dance, new student orientation, yearbook, Serving Others United in Love (S.O.U.L) trips and Together Encountering Christ (T.E.C.). Budin is also a member of the Lasallian Honors Program and Delta Epsilon Sigma (National Scholastic Honor Society).

“If it wasn’t for the other students here, if it wasn’t for everyone, we wouldn’t be up here either. We wouldn’t be involved. We wouldn’t have things to be involved in, if it wasn’t for every student on this campus,” said Borash, an environmental biology major.

Borash has helped to form the Archery Club and LSCB (Leadership, Service, Community, Brotherhood) Club as well as been a member of the Liturgical Choir, Beta Beta Beta (National Biological Honor Society), Delta Epsilon Sigma (National Scholastic Honor Society), Hendrickson Scholars, the Lasallian Honors program, Biology Club, Lasallian Collegians, Buddies, Outdoor Leadership and the Taylor Richmond Benefit Dance Committee. He has worked as a resident assistant for the past three years and has competed for the university’s cross country, indoor track and outdoor track teams, as well as multiple intramural teams.

Borash specifically thanked the cross country team for their contributions to his life. “They’ve seen me at my best, they’ve seen me at my worst,” he said. “And even then, they’ve continued to make me realize there’s more to strive for. You may reach one goal but there’s always another one to go for. For that, I can’t say thank you enough.”

Ten students were nominated for the awards. The four other male nominees were: Aaron Henry, a biology major; Bryan Moore, a performance studies major in dance and theatre; Jay Olson, a biochemistry major; and Jake Traxler, a biochemistry major.

The four other female nominees were: Sarah Anderson, a biology pre-physical therapy major and theatre minor; Samantha Herbst, an elementary education major; Jacinta Jude, a biology pre-physical therapy major and chemistry minor; and Shannon Nelson, a public relations and Spanish double major.

No comments: