Friday, April 25, 2008

SMU recognizes excellence

Compiled by Lindsay Dickson

Many seniors were honored at two award ceremonies this month.
The first, a Student Life Awards Ceremony on April 9, awarded students of all ages and staff members for their service and leadership at Saint Mary’s University and in the community.
This ceremony was the first of its kind at SMU. Chris Kendall, vice president for student development, plans to expand on the program in future years. The following individuals received awards:

Brother Finbar McMullen Award: Nikki Richmond
Charlene “Char” Tjaden Outstanding Resident Assistant: Gary Borash
Club and Organization Advisor of the Year: Nancy Edstrom, advisor of Buddies

Club and Organization of the Year: Habitat for Humanity
Intramural Most Valuable Players: John Geske and Lee Coleman
Volunteer of the Year Award: Jessica Evers and Abby Zimmer
Oustanding Student Senator of the Year Award: Neil Leibundguth
Winona Community Service Award: Brittany Staver
Brother James Miller Award: Laura Holupchinski and Tony Freeman
Student Service Award: Kasey Schultz

A second ceremony, the Academic Honors Banquet, honored seniors for their academic work at the university. Members of honors societies were recognized and individual awards were
American Institute of Chemists Award: Nick Swanson
American Chemical Society Award: Michael Mulhollund
Business Awards: Ana Sontag, Kevin Black,
Rebecca Yerhot, Ashley Andrescik, Amanda Christman, Tina Koecheler
Saint Thomas Aquinas Award for Excellence: Tim Hepner
Gerald E. Sullivan Award: Walt Claassen
Michael G. Flanagan Award: Andrew Winecke
Brother Leo Northam Award: Sarah Ruether
Future Alumni Committee Scholarship: Jeff David
Lasallian Honors Program Outstanding Seniors:
Tim Hepner, Kasey Schultz

No comments: